Mecklenburg County

Like Charlotte County, Mecklenburg County was created by legislature in 1765 and formed 1 March 1765 and named after Queen Charlotte of Mecklenburg, wife of King George III. Unlike most counties, Mecklenburg’s boundaries have remained consistent ever since with 624 square miles. Its county seat is located in Boydton.