Appomattox County

Appomattox County was formed in 1845 from the counties of Buckingham, Prince Edward, Campbell and Charlotte. It increased in size again in 1848 when another part of Campbell County was added. Appomattox County derived its name from the Appomattox River, which itself was named for a historic Native American Tribe, the Appamatuck. It consists of 345 square miles with the county seat located in Appomattox.